Steph Makes Stuff

My journey through Pinterest

Homemade Wax Melts and Decongesting Shower Discs

This blog is actually combining 2 pins in one: the homemade wax melts and the Decongesting Shower Discs. I figured if I was already going to have the essential oils out, might as well do both crafts, right?

Here’s what you’ll need (for both crafts):

  • Baking soda
  • Essential oils: Eucylyptus, Peppermint, and Rosemary (Lavender or Lemon will work instead of Rosemary, if desired)
  • Unscented candle
  • Cupcake Liner (foil or silicone liners are ideal)
  • Empty wax warmer package or ice cube tray

photo 1I was surprised how simple these crafts where. There are very few steps for each one.

For the Decongesting Shower Discs, you’ll use 3:1 soda to water. I followed the directions on the Pinterest link and did 3 cups soda, 1 cup water. This ratio is even on the back of the box (in Tablespoons) as a face scrub. Good to know!

The mixture is pretty lumpy, but no worries. It will smooth out. Fill up a dozen cupcake liners about halfway full.

photo 2The paste acts kind of like a non-Newtonian fluid, which completely fascinate me. But I digress, just wiggle your spoon on the top of the liquid and it smooths out very quickly.

photo 3The pin called for them to dry overnight. I didn’t have time for that this week so I put them in a very low temp oven. It worked, but if you have time, just allow them to dry thoroughly overnight.

After they are completely dry, remove them from their liners. Or leave them in. It’s fine either way. Add your oils. I did 6 drops Rosemary, 8 drops Peppermint, and 8 drops Eucalyptus. Mine didn’t turn out very pretty, ha! I had already had my shower for the day so I just ran it under hot water for a few minutes. The disc didn’t last long under the hot water but the aroma lingered, almost strengthened, after the disc was gone. Overall, I’m pleased. I’ll be sure to make more next time the hubby gets sick. Between the steam and the decongestants, this project was pretty awesome.

photo 4Now on to decongesting wax melts. I kept seeing suggestion on Pinterest to put Vicks in your wax warmer instead of putting in on your child. That didn’t settle well with me. Something about that set up just seems dangerous, flammable. I figured I could use the essential oils to create a safer alternative. You can pin this how-to post on Pinterest by clicking here.

I started by melting my candle. This was a Super Bowl party gift. lol! Our host wanted a goofy gift and she never figured I’d use it, but I’ll bet she’s surprised to see it on my blog now! Melting the candle took soooo long.

photo 1While your candle is melting. Prep your containers. I used an old wax melt package and about half of an ice cube tray. Make sure your containers are cleaned and deodorized.

photo 2Once your candle is FINALLY melted, fill your trays and add your scents. I used about 3 drops of each oil per square. Next time, I will probably increase this to 6 or 7 drops per square.

photo 3Allow them to dry. The wax forms a shell rather quickly, about 10 minutes, but don’t remove it from it’s container yet. If you look closely, you can see where the middle is still liquid. Mine looked totally dry after about 9 hours. I popped one out of the ice cube container and immediately tried it.  Haha. Ironic. I wait 8 hours for it to dry just to melt it again. It smelled wonderful. I wish I had made it a little stronger but it definitely can clear your sinuses. Again, I’m pleased.

photo 4I’m pretty excited to know I can save so much on my scented wax. I’m especially excited that I don’t have to worry about a fire or greasy skin, depending on how you are using the rub at the time.

photo 5This project would be great if you have small children. You could get all the benefits of the rub with a ton more convenience.  It’s also good for fussy husbands who don’t like their shirt sticking to their chest. I love this project. I can guarantee I will keep some of this in my medicine cabinet for allergy season!

You can pin this how-to post on Pinterest by clicking here.

*Update* I have had quite a few Scentsy MLMers message me and tell me that putting anything in your warmer other than their wax voids the warranty. (Yeah, Scenty’s website doesn’t say that on their warranty. I checked.) I’m not that worried about voiding a warranty I didn’t know existed. PLUS, Better Homes and Gardens makes their own wax warmers. Besides, this post is all about DIY and saving a few bucks. I’m going to be a rebel and make my own. Essential oils are a great way to go anyway! If you are from Scentsy, please don’t bother commenting. I will delete your comment. I’m tired of messing with you. I do not tolerate network marketing very well (at all.)

pyramid scheme

**********

Thanks for reading my blog! If you’d like to keep up with me, please follow me on Pinterest here or like my Facebook page here. You guys rock!

Single Post Navigation

41 thoughts on “Homemade Wax Melts and Decongesting Shower Discs

  1. Pingback: Homemade Vicks Scentsy Bars « Can Be Dun

  2. Ashley on said:

    What kind of candle can you use for this?

    • Great question! I just bought a large unscented green one. Color doesn’t matter (I just wanted to match the Vicks association.) Buying unscented DOES matter though. Since you are adding your own scents, you’ll want to have as little interference as possible. A small candle would work just as well, just reduce your oils. (Or!! Keep them the same to increase the intensity.) This project is very forgiving.

  3. Thanks for the tip. Tea tree oil is also amazing for the cold season. I add it to the top of my vapourizer when anyone has a cold. It helps to keep you from hacking all night, which always happens to me when I have a cold. :)

  4. Kaitlin on said:

    I bet if you grated the candle it would melt much faster!

    • That’s a great idea for a loose candle. Mine was stuck to the jar, unfortunately. I will have to see if I can find a large, unscented, loose candle to try next time. Thanks!!

      • Cassie McClain on said:

        Hey there! I found a large unscented candle at Wal-Mart for $1.29. I used a larger size cheese grater to shred the candle and it worked out perfectly. I used tea tree oil and lavender oil together cause my kids have head colds and tea tree is perfect for congestion.

  5. would beeswax work instead of candle?

    • I imagine so! I haven’t tried it, but there is such a thing as a beeswax candle so it’s worth a shot! If you try it, let me know how it works. You might also consider increasing your amounts of essential oils so you can smell them over the honey scent.

  6. Miatamama on said:

    Depending upon the size of your Scentsy warmer, it may get hot enough to melt it. Beeswax has a pretty high melting point.

  7. You mentioned ‘deodorizing’ the old scentsy containers, which Totally makes sense.. but what exactly did you do/use to get the original scent out of the container?
    Thanks!

  8. Where do you typically buy your essential oils?

    • I bought all of these at plain ol’ Walmart!! The eucalyptus oil was in the cold meds area. The others were close to the candles and incense. Around $2 a bottle if I remember correctly.

  9. It would also be permissible to use the paraffin wax found in the grocery store aisles as well, yes?

    • After consulting with a few friends, we have come to the agreement that this will probably work. We have no experience on it personally so we recommend doing a little research to make sure there is no danger. Update us after you try.

  10. Reblogged this on A Hermit's Guide to 42 and commented:
    This is an awesome post just in time for the cold and back-to-school season.

  11. I freaking love your response to the warranty finger wags! Plus, I cannot find the Vicks shower pucks anymore (Do THEY even make them any more??) And I was completely addicted when I got a cold, or sinus infection. I’m ordering my essential oils right NOW! ;). Thanks a million. ;)

  12. How do you store the shower discs? Just in a baggie or do they need to be put in freezer? Thanks for these ideas. I just got my oils and will be making these today. My little one just got over a cold and I was wishing I had these done already. :-)

    • Glad you’re feeling better!! I just stored each one in a small sandwich Baggie at room temperature. Mine didn’t last very long. The freezer would not work though. Essentially, find something you can use to retain the moisture in it without adding to it. Good luck!

  13. Kristi on said:

    Just a quick question on the shower discs…I add the oils after they are dry? Won’t the oil just run all over… Just want to make sure I am doing this right :) Thanks!

  14. Along with the oils, could you also put the liquids Vicks ( I think it is called steam) in as well?

  15. Instead of making discs, I use baking soda, Epsom salts and essential oils to make a “bath salt”. My family is addicted to it! They use it all the time! I used: lavender, and DoTerras On Guard and Breathe blends. I just did around twelve drops of each, except the lavender. That one I used around twenty drops, so it’s very soothing. The kids love it! I used an old (clean) large plastic pickle jar, and have a coffee scoop in the jar. It can be used in the shower (a scoop off to the side, out of direct spray), and is used by me that way. I’m going to look at my co-op for more oils…… I’m LOVING controlling what goes in the tub with the kids :).

    For the Scentsy MLM folks, I wonder how they’d know what you used in your burner if you were to attempt to warranty it out. I love my burner, and would just buy another if I “killed” mine :).

  16. Hey,
    I have the liquid vaposteam that we use in the humidifier. Any chance you could just use that in the scentsy bars?

  17. Alechia on said:

    Does your melt before you get to use all your melt? I find out that mine melt, melted before I could use all of them. I did like every one else did. I had a garage sell, wanted to sell my melt and they melted before I could get them out to sell. I also see them at flea market. They don’t melt under hot weather. How do I keep mine from melting? Do I need to add some thing in the wax?

    • I’m kind of confused about what you’re asking exactly. But let me answer the best I can. I didn’t have any trouble with mine melting when they shouldn’t have. Mine stayed solid at room temperature. These are designed to melt when they get hot so it makes sense that they’d melt outside on a really hot day but it would have to be exposed to the heat for a pretty long time. Did you maybe not let them dry completely before prepping to sell them?

  18. Heather on said:

    love this blog…definitely going to have to make a grocery store run in the morning as I can barely breathe right now due to congestion. Question….how much does the recipe make…bars and shower discs? I don’t want to have an overload of these laying around but at the same time want to make sure I am prepared for cold/flu season…welcome to South Texas. One day it’s 90 (in December) and then later the same day you are putting on a parka.

    • I made 6 large cupcake sized discs, 12 ice cube tray sized wax melts, and an old wax container full. It makes quite a bit but not an overload.

      Oh. And Neti Pots are WONDERFUL. Weird but wonderful.

    • Oh. And I know Texas. Oh man. We live in the Heartland. The other day it was a hot 80 degrees. 12 hours later I had snow and ice in my yard. You aren’t kidding. Texas is bipolar.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 214 other followers

